Anesthesiology Section

 View Only

The Anesthesiology Section is a diverse group of professionals whose mission is to provide preeminent leadership and collaboration with all members of the critical care team in critical care practice education and research.

Core Values

High-quality patient care
We seek to provide an evidence-based structure and process for the care of the critically ill. Our care should be safe, effective, efficient, patient-centered, timely, and equitable. Our approach is metric and outcomes driven. We continually strive to refine and refocus our efforts to improve patient outcomes and care.

An educational environment
We believe that the best care is delivered in an educational environment.

We seek explanations for clinically relevant problems and strive to find and develop new and innovative solutions so that our patients are assured of receiving leading-edge care.

Patient, family and surrogate satisfaction
We strive to identify all patients, family members and surrogates and attempt to understand and honor their value. We pledge to measure and monitor levels of satisfaction with the care we provide and to continually improve service satisfaction.

Ethical practice
We value reliability, trust and integrity in all aspects of our work.

We strive to create a culture of safety.

Leadership (Term 2023 - 2025)

Chair - Mark E. Nunnally, MD, FCCM, NYU Langone Medical Center and School of Medicine, New York, New York, USA 

Chair-elect - Talia K. Ben-Jacob, MD, MS, Cooper University Hospital, Camden, New Jersey, USA

Secretary/Treasurer - Samuel M. Galvagno, DO, MS, PhD, FCCM, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Past Chair - Miguel A. Cobas, MD, FCCM, Jackson South Community Hospital, Miami, Florida, USA


Members At-Large

Gozde Demiralp, MD, University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Craig Steven Jabaley, MD, Emory University Hospital , Atlanta, Georgia, USA 

Kunal Karamchandani, MD, FCCP, FCCM, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas, USA

Ashish K. Khanna, MD, FCCP, FCCM, Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA

Monica I. Lupei, MD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Shahla Siddiqui, MD, MS, FCCM, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts, USA


Council Liaison

Jose L. Diaz-Gomez, MD, FASE, FCCM, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA 

Board Liaison

Mark E. Nunnally, MD, FCCM, NYU Langone Medical Center and School of Medicine, New York, New York, USA

Latest Discussions

Please login to see all eligible discussion postings

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

SCCM Section Resources

Looking for information on joining a Specialty Section? Visit

Find resources for all Sections in the SCCM Section Library: Sections Library