Nursing Section

 View Only

The Nursing Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is a vibrant and active specialty section composed of nurses and other healthcare professionals from diverse clinical, administrative, educational, and research roles in the field of critical care. The Nursing Section exists to further the education and promote the interest of Society members who have special interest and maintain activity as nurses and other healthcare professionals in critical care.

The Nursing Section governance provides a structure and forum for representation in the section to discuss and act upon specialty-specific issues and to affect change on a more personal level. The governance is guided by a strategic plan and enacted by the section leadership. A variety of section committee opportunities are available, including Advanced Practice and Professional Development, Communication and Recognition, Membership, and Research Committees. The Nursing Section communicates with its members via SCCM Connect. In addition to networking and communicating with nursing professionals within the Society, members can communicate on a broader scale using the Advanced Nursing Practice in Acute and Critical Care (ANPACC) electronic listserv. The section also provides a variety of programs.

Nursing Section members are also eligible for a variety of section-specific awards and grants, including the Research Scholarship Award, the ICCN-SCCM Award, the Norma J. Shoemaker Grant for Critical Care Nursing Research, and the Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence.

Section membership provides a voice within the Society, a chance to influence the direction and decision-making of SCCM, including membership on Society-wide committees. Mentorship for nurses seeking Fellowship in the American College of Critical Care Medicine is also available through the section.

Chair - Cedars Sinai Medical Center, Burbank, California, USA
Chair-Elect - Kelly A. Thompson-Brazill, ACNP, DNP, FCCM, Georgetown University School of Nursing and Health Sciences, Washington, D.C, USA
Secretary/Treasurer - Benjamin Njoku, BSN, CCRN, TNCC
Past-Chair - Kristie A. Hertel, DNP, CCRN, ACNP-BC, FCCM, East Carolina University Health Medical Center, Greenville, North Carolina, USA
Members At-Large 
Allison Anderson, Allison Andersen, APRN, CCNS, University Medical Center Las Vegas, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Marilia I. Diaz Correa, MSN, RN, FCCM

Lora Lonidier, DNP, Jackson Pulmonary Associates PA, Jackson Mississippi, USA

Council Liaison
Sheila A. Alexander, BSN, PhD, RN, FCCM, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Board Liaison

Sandra M. Swoboda, MS, RN, FCCM, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Latest Discussions

Please login to see all eligible discussion postings

Either the content you're seeking doesn't exist or it requires proper authentication before viewing.

SCCM Section Resources

Looking for information on joining a Specialty Section? Visit

Find resources for all Sections in the SCCM Section Library: Sections Library